Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

EnergyFlowsWhereAttentionGoesIn continuing with the themes of the past couple days, I was paying closer attention to my distractions during my meditations.  I had also noticed how it spilled over into my living waking life ~ kind of like one of those AHA Moments!

There are distractions all around.  Some are external noises or theatrical displays, while some are situations occurring in and around our lives with others we associate with; but then, there are those we create ourselves.  The latter are usually the ones you could also call the story we create.  What does that mean?  Well, let’s look at this closer.

What are distractions, really?

Well, a distraction takes our “attention” away from what is right in front of us that needs tending ~ what needs our attention!  A distraction is avoiding responsibility and,  ultimately, what we are afraid to face ~> an underlying fear.  Distractions may start out innocently enough but then, there are times when they become so addictive we fall short of our unmet responsibilities creating havoc in our lives.  

I had to stop to search to see if I could find a clear definition of what distraction really is.  The closest I could find was: “an obstacle to attention; drawing someone’s attention away from something; inattention” (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/distraction).

So, 

  • What is the underlying fear? 
  • What creates this fear and how does it hold us back? 
  • Why do we allow distractions? 
  • Why are we so afraid to face this false expectations appearing real?

Well, for each person, this may appear to be different but when you really get to the root,

it is the fear of Change and the Unknown!  Because change is like death, we associate this with discomfort.  So, we return to our primitive instincts of fight or flee basically finding every excuse, or distraction, to avoid it.  We are so attached to our ideas we create the illusionary expectation of any outcome = the idea that anything else we’re currently experiencing would be uncomfortable and, therefor, it must be avoided at all costs.

It's Time To Face Change

We are so attached to our livelihood that we become complacent in our daily comforts and routines that the mere idea of moving forward keeps us stuck so, instead of allowing the change to happen, we create distractions to avoid dealing with it!  How do I know this… ha ha, well, that’s my AHA Moment right there!  I’m spilling the beans on myself and owning up to this right now because I know from witnessing what my own patterns have revealed.

A friend recently mentioned how she was finding herself overeating and how much it perplexed and bothered her.  I found myself reflecting on this because I, too, was doing the same on and off.  Now, I won’t say I was necessarily overeating so much as burying myself in one of my passions of inventing new food creations, to avoid working on my writing.  I can get my own distractions in creative ways that seem perfectly innocent as they do yield results but not necessarily the ones I really should be focusing on.  Does this make sense to anyone else out there?

So, how many of you out there see how you create distraction in your own life to avoid doing what you know needs your immediate attention?
If you are able to witness how you are responsible for blocking your own forward growth and progression, will you take action even if it means you cannot predict the outcome?

Action is a great restorer and builder of confidence. Inaction is not only the result, but the cause, of fear. Perhaps the action you take will be successful; perhaps different action or adjustments will have to follow. But any action is better than no action at all.
~ Norman Vincent Peale

Previously, I wrote: 

The key ~ not to get attached to the outcome of these expectations.  Because the root of suffering is in expectation!  Emotion lies behind all of this ~ emitting a feeling or attaching to an outcome!


Follow Your Bliss Joseph Campbell

“Choose wisely where you place your attention/focus because your energy is precious and shouldn’t be wasted!”

Love and Light Blessings,

~ Lana

